ice logo HEADER

Prof Sir Stephen O'Rahilly

Prof Sir Stephen O'Rahilly
UK

sorahilly

Stephen O’Rahilly is Professor of Clinical Biochemistry and Medicine at the University of Cambridge and Honorary Consultant Physician at Addenbrooke’s Hospital. He led the establishment of the Institute of Metabolic Science, which he now co-directs. He is Scientific Director of the Cambridge NIHR Biomedical Research Centre. He qualified in Medicine from University College Dublin and undertook post-graduate training in London, Oxford and Boston before setting up his laboratory in Cambridge in 1991. He has sought to better understand the molecular mechanisms leading to diabetes, obesity and related metabolic and endocrine disorders. He remains active in clinical practice and in the teaching of medical students. He has won many national and international awards including the Heinrich Wieland Prize, the Inbev Baillet Latour Prize, the Zülch Prize, the first EASD/Novo Nordisk Foundation Diabetes Prize for Excellence and gave the Harveian Oration of the Royal College of Physicians, London, in 2016. He was elected to the Royal Society in 2003, a Foreign Associate of the National Academy of Sciences USA in 2011 and is an Honorary Member of the German Society for Internal Medicine and the Royal Irish Academy. He was appointed a Knight Bachelor in 2013.

       
  Conference Secretariat:
Scatterlings Conference & Events

Scatterlings-Logo

 

JHB : 1st Floor Excellence House, 14 Mullbery Hill Office Park, 4 Broardacres Drive, Dainfern, 2191
CPT: 302b Buitenkloof Studios, 8 Kloof Street, Gardens, Cape Town, 8001
Tel: +27 (0)11 463 5085 •  Fax: +27 (0)11 463 3265
www.soafrica.com

Project Manager: Carolyn Melnick - Project Manager | caro@soafrica.com | Tel: +27 (0)21 422 2402


      Registrations:
International
Charne Millett-Clay | charne@soafrica.com

South African
Tammy Maart | tammy@soafrica.com
Programme:
Invited Speakers
Marija Spasevski | marija@soafrica.com

Abstracts
Simone Solomons | simone@soafrica.com

Side Meetings
Brenda Outhet | brenda@soafrica.com
Sponsors & Exhibitors
Robyn Cawood | robyn@soafrica.com