ice logo HEADER



Dr Daniel J Drucker - Canada

Dr. Drucker received his M.D. from the University of Toronto in 1980, and is currently Professor of Medicine. He holds a Canada Research Chair in Regulatory Peptides and the Banting and Best Diabetes Centre-Novo Nordisk Chair in Incretin Biology. His laboratory is based in the Lunenfeld Tanenbaum Research Institute at Mt. Sinai Hospital in Toronto and studies the molecular biology and physiology of the glucagon-like peptides. Read more

SLP Jameson

Dr James L Jameson - USA

J. Larry Jameson, MD, PhD, is the Executive Vice President for the Health System and Dean of the Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania. Dr. Jameson received his medical degree with honors and a doctoral degree in biochemistry from the University of North Carolina. He completed clinical training in internal medicine and endocrinology at Massachusetts General Hospital where he later served as chief of the Thyroid Unit. Dr. Read more


Dr. Sundeep Khosla - USA

Dr. Sundeep Khosla is the Dr. Francis Chucker and Nathan Landow Research Professor of Medicine and Physiology at Mayo Clinic. He received his A.B. from Harvard College and his M.D. from Harvard Medical School. He was a resident in Internal Medicine and a fellow in Endocrinology at the Massachusetts General Hospital. In 1988 he moved to Mayo, where his research has focused on mechanisms of age-related bone loss. Dr. Khosla has served on the Council of the National Institute on Aging and has received numerous awards and honors, including the Frederic C. Read more

Prof. Ana Claudia Latronico - Brazil

Full Professor of the Department of Clinical Medicine, Discipline of Endocrinology, Faculty of Medicine, University of Sao Paulo, Head of Endocrinology and Metabolism; Coordinator of the Post-Graduation Program in Endocrinology, Principal Researcher of the Laboratory of Hormones and Molecular Genetics, Vice-President of the International Relations Commission of Sao Paulo Medical School, and Full Member of the Brazilian Academy of Sciences. Read more.

Prof. Jean Claude Mbanya - Cameroon

Jean Claude Mbanya (MD, PhD, MRCP (UK), FRCP (London) is Professor of Medicine and Endocrinology at the Faculty of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences, University of Yaoundé I, Director Biotechnology Center and Postgraduate Dean Doctoral School of Life Sciences, Health and Environmental Sciences, University of Yaoundé 1. Read more.


Dr Stefano Del Prato - Italy

Dr. Del Prato is Professor of Endocrinology and Metabolism at the University of Pisa School of Medicine and Chief of the Section of Diabetes, University of Pisa, Italy. He graduated MD cum laude from the University of Padova and undertook post-graduate specialization in both Endocrinology and Internal Medicine. Read more


Prof Sir Stephen O'Rahilly - UK

Stephen O’Rahilly is Professor of Clinical Biochemistry and Medicine at the University of Cambridge and Honorary Consultant Physician at Addenbrooke’s Hospital. He led the establishment of the Institute of Metabolic Science, which he now co-directs. He is Scientific Director of the Cambridge NIHR Biomedical Research Centre. He qualified in Medicine from University College Dublin and undertook post-graduate training in London, Oxford and Boston before setting up his laboratory in Cambridge in 1991. Read more.


Prof. Gail Risbridger - Australia

Professor Risbridger is an International leader in prostate cancer and Men’s Health at Monash University, Melbourne. Through understanding stromal-epithelial cell signalling in the prostate, her pioneering work on human tumours identified therapy resistant stem cells and how they interact with tumour stroma.
Read more.

Dr. Yutaka Takahashi - Japan

Yutaka Takahashi M.D., Ph.D. is associate professor at Division of Diabetes and Endocrinology, Kobe University Graduate School of Medicine, Japan. He completed clinical training in internal medicine and endocrinology at Kobe University Hospital. His main fields of interest are pituitary diseases, particularly adult growth hormone deficiency and acromegaly.
Read more.

454954845132384.znZXMgbSzqkl6zWQ27az height640

Dr. Weiqing Wang - China

Weiqing Wang, M.D, Ph.D, Professor of medicine, Director of the Department of Endocrine and Metabolism of Shanghai Ruijin Hospital, Shanghai Jiaotong University School of Medicine. She is the current Vice president of the Chinese Endocrine Society, Chief Executive of Chinese Endocrinologist Association, Chair of Shanghai Endocrine Society, vice-president of Shanghai Diabetes Rehabilitation Society.
Read more.


Dr R Michael Tuttle - USA

Dr R Michael Tuttle, an Endocrinologist and Professor of Medicine at Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center in New York, designed and validated the first real time risk assessment model for thyroid cancer management in which individual risk estimates are modified over time as a function of response to initial therapy. In addition, his clinical studies have helped to define defined the role of recombinant human TSH as an adjuvant for radioactive iodine therapy in both low risk and high risk patients and in the setting of radioactive iodine avid distant metastases.
Read more


Prof Wiebke Arlt - UK

Wiebke Arlt is the William Withering Chair of Medicine and Director of the Institute of Metabolism and Systems Research at the University of Birmingham. She trained in Germany and the United States and since 2002 she works at the University of Birmingham, leading a multi-disciplinary research group working on steroid metabolism and action in health and disease. Her research is funded by the Welcome Trust, the Medical Research Council UK and the European Commission
Read more

  Conference Secretariat:
Scatterlings Conference & Events



JHB : 1st Floor Excellence House, 14 Mullbery Hill Office Park, 4 Broardacres Drive, Dainfern, 2191
CPT: 302b Buitenkloof Studios, 8 Kloof Street, Gardens, Cape Town, 8001
Tel: +27 (0)11 463 5085 •  Fax: +27 (0)11 463 3265

Project Manager: Carolyn Melnick - Project Manager | | Tel: +27 (0)21 422 2402

Mandy Godfrey |

Side Meetings
Vee Lidzhade |
Invited Speakers
Marija Spasevski |

Simone Solomons |
Sponsors & Exhibitors
Robyn Cawood |